Skip to content

Essay Contest Finalists: Photo Essay Category

Thanks to all the high school students who shared their personal stories in the “Dear Cancer, It’s Me” essay contest. We truly appreciate the effort, courage, and time that each of you took to participate in this event.

 

BriannaCorbettMy name is Brianna Corbett. I am 15 years old and a sophomore at Foothill Technology High School in Ventura, CA. I love music and enjoy singing, playing the piano and guitar. I sing with the worship team at my church and help to lead worship for our youth programs as well as on Sunday mornings for the church services. I also enjoy playing volleyball and spending time with my family. My father was diagnosed with metastatic testicular cancer on March 9, 2014 and this past year has been the most difficult year of my life. He has completed 9 rounds of chemotherapy, 3 stem cell transplants and 2 surgeries, but at this time, it appears that he has beaten cancer.

“I have cancer.” It’s crazy how so few words can have so much impact, but as I heard my dad telling me those 3 awful words, it felt as if my world came crashing down. I felt so hopeless, constantly asking God, “why my dad?” But when I started picking up the pieces, with help from those closest to me,
 I took a new perspective, which I aim to show through this photo essay.

Brianna Corbett-Photo Essay

 

 

 

IvyAlannaPikeMy name is Ivy Alanna Pike I’m seventeen years old and I go to Ventura High School. My parents are Annie and Allen Pike and I have a little sister, Jade. I was born and raised in Ventura, CA. My favorite things to do are go on trips, go to concerts, and take pictures. I hope one day to become a photographer.

 

 

 

 

Ivy Alanna Pike-Photo Essay

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

