Skip to content

Volunteer Spotlight- Ann Houseal and Lauri Rivetti

 

Houseal_Lrivetti.jpg


Ann Houseal

Ten years ago, after losing my mother to cancer, I went to a Wellness Community “informational” meeting. By the time the meeting was over I was one of the Volunteer Co-chairs for the Holiday Homes Tour.

I have continued to give my time for many reasons but mainly because CSC provides comfort, support, and education to those affected by cancer for free. My efforts at CSC are usually based around the Holiday Homes Tour events. I have been one of the Co-chairs for the Volunteers on and off and have been one of the Co-chairs of the event for a number of years.

It has been such a pleasure working with such dedicated and compassionate people to produce this extraordinary weekend. It warms my heart to see the visitors and especially the survivors, smiling and enjoying the event. This is my small way of giving back and hopefully letting those struggling with this disease know that they aren’t alone in this battle. Then on Sunday night I can go home, put my aching feet up and be proud that we did our best to add another year to the Holiday Homes Tour tradition.

 


Lauri Rivetti

I have been a volunteer for 8 years.  I started out as a Docent, then became a Volunteer Co-Chair, and then have been the HHT Co-Chair for 4 years.  My husband is a colon cancer survivor of 21 years now.  Going through that with him in our early 40’s, with young children, was frightening.  I did not know about Cancer Support Community back then.  I wish I did.

My sister has been battling ovarian cancer for the past 8 years.  Watching her fight cancer every day is heart breaking.  I know the support from CSC helps cancer survivors, and those currently going through cancer, with education and comfort along the way.  During the Holiday Homes Tour, we see many guests, obviously battling cancer, come through our beautifully decorated homes, and see the smile on their faces, thanking us for the support they so desperately need.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

