Skip to content

Volunteer Spotlight – Becky Buck

becky-buckBecky Buck has been involved with Cancer Support Community Valley/Ventura/Santa Barbara since she was in High School. Originally starting off as a docent for Holiday Homes Tour, Becky’s commitments to CSC have only increased over the years.  She currently serves on the Board of Directors, the Holiday Homes Tour committee and as chair of the Wings of Hope Gala held on Friday, May 5, 2017, in the Air Force One Pavilion at The Ronald Reagan Presidential Library.

How did you hear about Cancer Support Community?  I first heard of CSC when I was in high school and my mother joined the Holiday Homes Tour committee.  She signed up my sisters and I to be docents on the tour. Ten years later, I joined the HHT committee and have been on it ever since.

How has cancer impacted your life?  I lost my father to lung cancer when I was just 7 years old.  It was a very difficult time for my sister, mother and I. We were living in Illinois at the time and I wish we had a cancer support group we all could have participated in together.  I feel it would have been very beneficial to us.

What do you find most rewarding about your volunteer work with CSC?   Even though I have not been a participant in CSC, I truly believe it is such an amazing organization.  To hear all the stories and witness how CSC has helped so many people, including children, makes me realize all the efforts and fundraising my family and I contribute makes it all worth it.  I have also made many new friends who share my same passion for charity involvement in our community, many who also work full-time jobs and always find a way and time to make it a part of their lifestyle.

What are you working on right now for CSC? I was very happy to be part of the Holiday Home Tour committee again in 2016, it was such a successful event.  I also joined the Board of Directors in the fall of 2016 and I am excited to be the 2017 Gala Chairperson.  I have attended the Gala for the past 10 years and look forward to working with this dynamic group to put on an amazing event, this year at the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library on May 5, 2017.


SAVE THE DATE
Wings of Hope Gala
Friday, May 5, 2017, at 6:30 pm
The Ronald Reagan Presidential Library, Air Force One Pavilion

gala-small-header

Click Here for tickets, Sponsorship Opportunities or to advertise in the Tribute Book

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

